Where can I find more vegetarian recipes?
Vegetarians do not eat animal flesh. This includes meat and fish/seafood as well as animal flesh derived ingredients such as gelatin and bone broth. Vegetarians typically eat animal derived eggs and milk. However, there are different types of vegetarian, including lacto-ovo (eats both eggs and milk), ovo (only eggs) and lacto (only milk). It is important to discuss with a vegetarian family what is ok and not okay to serve their children, and to never serve a vegetarian child meat.
Vegans do not eat any animal derived ingredients, including meat, fish, dairy, eggs, honey, and other ingredients derived from animals. Examples of ingredients that vegans cannot eat include gelatin, bone broth, whey, butter, and mayonnaise. There are many plant-based alternatives to these ingredients available, so many vegetarian recipes can be made vegan through a simple substitution. It is very important that vegan children are not served any animal-based ingredients.
Note: To make any of the vegetarian recipes vegan, omit the yogurt, milk, cheese or mayonnaise and/or substitute with a plant-based alternative.
Vegetarianism and veganism are often part of an individuals religious and spiritual beliefs. Regardless, when working with children that are vegetarian or vegan, care must be taken to ensure that their dietary restrictions are respected.
For recipes with 50 child-sized servings, visit Healthy Eating Starts Here – Child Care.
Meat alternatives are:
- good sources of protein (e.g. beans, lentils, and tofu)
- good source of fibre (e.g. beans and lentils)
- good choice for all children, not just those who avoid meat for cultural or religious reasons
Recipe ideas include: